My Pesto Tree

20171224_182155

This Christmas, my family created a new tradition. I get to make the Christmas Eve dinner! I like cooking, so I was quite happy to do it.

So, I decided what to make: a Pesto stuffed Christmas tree! Yes, a ‘light bite’ before the big meal on Christmas day. With all that said and done, I hadn’t even practised beforehand.. what if I couldn’t pull it off? I was feeding 6 people after all!

Once the sun started to set over the tree tops, it was time to cook! Out came the jars of pesto and the ingredients for the puff pastry. I cut the pastry into a tree shape and lined it with pesto and Parmesan cheese (yum!!) Then I cut slits into the side of it, just enough to twist them like branches. It looked quite good raw really, but that’s no use if it’s not edible!! Time for the oven.

After a few minutes of cooking, I took the lovely golden puffy tree out and put it on the side. Once cool, I decorated with goats cheese and tomatoes. It looked just like baubles!

It was ready to be served!!


I was happy with how it turned out. It tasted delicious too, which is of course the most important bit! If you want to try the recipe, click here!

 

 

Leave a comment